Curated Reading Lists
Rating

Star Wars gif

May the 4th be with you. Happy Star Wars Day! These *are* the books you’re looking for. A long time ago in a movie theater far, far away, Star Wars: The Force Awakens arrived and blew you away. It had it all: action, high stakes, characters to fanboy/fangirl over, friendship, cute little robots, Harrison Ford, Daisy Ridley, more high stakes, okay, we’re getting carried away. The point is, it was AMAZING but there’s just one problem: Star Wars: The Last Jedi doesn’t come out until December of this year! *cries because we hate waiting*

While you could spend all that time re-watching the original movies (we’re going to pretend the prequels never happened) and angrily staring at your calendar wondering why the days are passing so slowly, you know what else you could do? Read a kajillion and one books! Better yet? Read ‘Star Wars’-esque books to make the wait a little more bearable! So, without further ado, we present our list of books to fill your ‘Star Wars’ craving!

BooksLikeStarWars

 

1. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman

Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive – alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth.

Add These Broken Stars to your Goodreads shelf!

 

2. Avalon by Mindee Arnett

A group of teenage mercenaries come across information that corrupt, crime bosses running their government are willing to kill them for. And, of course, this all happens in outer space! Let’s hope they have their own Han Solo to help them out!

Add Avalon to your Goodreads shelf!

 

3. Saga by Brian K. Vaugh & Fiona Staples

Think ‘Romeo and Juliet’ but instead of being set “In fair Verona…” it’s set in space during a never-ending galactic war! Plus there’s tons of alien species, violence, and just overall awesomeness in this graphic novel series. Come for the stunning art, stay for the addicting story line! (Fair warning: This is not “YA” and by that we mean you might see some body parts that the FCC would give fines to if they were shown on live TV.)

Add Saga to your Goodreads shelf!

 

 

4. Insignia by S.J. Kincaid

WWIII is being fought to control the assets of the solar system, and things aren’t looking good. A 14 year-old gaming prodigy is brought in to control the battle drones and possibly turn the war around! This three book series is all out in paperback now, so binge away!

Add Insignia to your Goodreads shelf!

 

5. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Clearly we have the mention the original outer space YA. Ender Wiggins is the result of genetic experiments determined to create the perfect general in a war hundred of years old. Even so, whether or not he, along with his similarly unique siblings, can create a future for mankind is no guarantee . . .

Add Ender’s Game to your Goodreads shelf!

 

6. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff

Told through top-secret government documents, emails, interviews, and more unique methods, the first book The Illuminae Files chronicles the story of two recently broken-up teens that find themselves at the center of a war between megacorporations in the year 2575! And you thought your last break up sucked!

Add Illuminae to your Goodreads shelf!

 

7. Across the Universe by Beth Revis

With earth’s resources depleting, a teen girl named Amy joins her parents as a part of a program where they’ll be cryogenically frozen and woken up hundreds of years in the future on a new planet. The story turns into a murder mystery when one of the workers on the ship wakes Amy. . . by attempting to murder her!

Add Across the Universe to your Goodreads shelf!

 

8. The 100 by Kass Morgan

100 juvenile delinquents are sent down to earth after it was destroyed by a nuclear war. Their goal? To see if it’s habitable. What happens when they get there? Earth is no longer the place mankind left hundreds of years before. Definitely read the novels, but the CW show is just as good!

Add The 100 to your Goodreads shelf!

 

9. Salvage by Alexandra Duncan

Ava is a girl living on an aggressively patriarchal ship in deep space. When her life takes a turn for the worst, she flees, finding herself on the Gyre, a continent of garbage floating in the Pacific Ocean. Fingers crossed she comes into contact with Daisy Ridley’s Rey along her journey!

Add Salvage to your Goodreads shelf!

 

10 – 12. Star Wars Illustrated Novels

Finally, this list wouldn’t be complete without mentioning the recent young adult trilogy of ‘Star Wars’ spinoff novels, one of which was published by YA Queen Alexandra Bracken!

Add the series to your Goodreads shelf!

 

13. Star Wars: Bloodline by Claudia Gray

This is a thrilling prequel to Star Wars: The Force Awakens, set roughly six years before the events of the film and perfectly captures the spirit of Leia during her transition. PS – If you want to read more books by Claudia Gray, we highly suggest you check out this series!

Add this book to your Goodreads shelf!


 

Let us know in the comments if you have any recs! May the force be with you! 

UP NEXT:

7 YA Heroines Daisy Ridley Should Play
Teens in Space! (A Reading List)

Save

Save

Save