Blog

Allison van Diepen’s Top TV Badasses

Author Guest Posts, Lists!

We like our characters bad, b-b-b-bad to the bone. Allison van Diepen, author of On The Edge, knows how to recognize a badass character and how to write one.   ALLISON: One of my favorite things to do as a … Read More

How to Read at Family Gatherings

Book Nerds Unite, Videos

Here are some tips on how to keep thinning your to-be-read pile while being forced to spend time with your family during the holidays.     Tip #1: Read paperbacks. Don’t even bother trying to lug a precious hardcover around. … Read More

The Comprehensive Guide to Dating a Book Nerd

Book Nerds Unite, Videos

If you like piña coladas and getting caught in a bookstore, you should date us. Being a book nerd can present some interesting challenges when it comes to dating. Can you balance a love for books with a love life? … Read More

The 2014 *Book Shimmy* Awards: Semi-Finals

Epic Reads Exclusives

The semi-final round of the 2014 *Book Shimmy* Awards is officially open for voting! Go forth and vote for your favorite young adult novels of the year! Watch the announcements made during Tea Time with Team Epic Reads!   What … Read More

YA Recipes: Cinnamon Bookbinder Bread

Fun Stuff, Videos

Cinnamon Bookbinder Bread is best made with one’s fairy godmother, or someone with baking experience. Watch the video below and get the recipe for the signature pastry featured in STRAY by Elissa Sussman! Post by Epic Reads.   Cinnamon Bookbinder … Read More

NaNoWriMo Advice from YA Authors

Book Nerds Unite

You’ve made it halfway through November, future authors, we salute you! In fact, we’re here to help: we’ve gathered top-notch NaNoWriMo advice from some of our authors that is guaranteed to inspire. Drop your pencils (but not your laptops, don’t … Read More

7 Time Machines We Want to Test Drive

Lists!

If you’re going to time travel, you better travel in style. And thanks to fictional, near future technology, you have some options. We hear the newest gadget on the market is the Firebird from Claudia Gray’s novel, A Thousand Pieces … Read More

The 2014 *Book Shimmy* Awards: Nominations Round

Epic Reads Exclusives

It’s time for the greatest annual YA book awards ever, celebrating the best and most feels-inducing books of the year!   What are The *Book Shimmy* Awards? The *book shimmy* awards is an annual award show dedicating to honoring young … Read More

Which Obscure Wizard of Oz Character Are You?

Quizzes

Inspired by the release of THE WITCH MUST BURN – the newest Dorothy Must Die e-novella, we want to know which totally random Oz character you are. Take the quiz and find out!       About THE WITCH MUST … Read More

Like, Try, Why #39

Like, Try, Why

In this Like, Try, Why, we’re recommending YA books for fans of The Maze Runner, Anna Dressed in Blood, and Daughter of Smoke and Bone!       Like The Maze Runner by James Dashner, in Endgame: The Calling by … Read More

related books

Archive

This Month
Months
Years