25 Adult Books For Fans Of YA

07/29/2013 4:34PM | Posted by: TeamEpicReads | Book Nerds Unite, Infographics, Lists!
Rating

Last week during our weekly live video chat, Tea Time with Team Epic Reads, we discussed and debated what adult books are good for people who typically read YA and only YA.

We listened to your feedback, read your blog posts, saw your Reddit comments and came up with this list of 25.

Have another book you’d like to add? Tell us in the comments!

 

 

Click here to view and download the full size image!

25 Adults Books For Fans Of YA via @EpicReads

 

The Complete List of Adult Books for Fans of YA:

 

Row 1:

1. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
2. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
3. The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett
4. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
5. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

 

Row 2:

6. Feed by Mira Grant
7. Swamplandia! by Karen Russell
8. Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
9. Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
10. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

 

Row 3:

11. Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore
12. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
13. Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link
14. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley
15. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

 

Row 4:

16. The Magicians by Lev Grossman
17. The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell
18. The Stand by Stephen King
19. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley
20. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

 

Row 5:

21. Golden Boy by Abigale Tarttelin
22. Dare Me by Megan Abbott
23. The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker
24. Goliath by Tom Gauld
25. Unholy Night by Seth Grahame-Smith

User Comments 22 comments

  1. July 29, 2013 | 6:13 pm

    LOVE Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. It\\\’s one of my all-time favourites!

  2. July 29, 2013 | 9:03 pm

    I’ve read almost every book on this list, and can agree on all of them except one. Four would even make my top ten favourite books.

  3. July 30, 2013 | 12:19 am

    i loved night circus and snow child but i\’d like to add The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

  4. July 30, 2013 | 2:59 am

    I want to read The Ocean At The End of The Lane so BADDDDDDDDDDD!!! **BOOK SHIMMY***

  5. July 30, 2013 | 12:17 pm

    I\’d also like to recommend the author Kristin Hannah (she writes women\’s fiction). Namely her novels Night Road, Firefly Lane, and Home Again.

    • August 26, 2013 | 8:00 am

      I’ve heard about her she is a great author i have been to her blog.

  6. July 30, 2013 | 2:13 pm

    Ready Player One is phenomenal!!!

  7. July 30, 2013 | 7:08 pm

    started reading rook but had to return it to the library before i could finish it. complex and interesting.

    like christopher moore. i love dirty job the best but it\’s a little more raunchy than biff up there.

    terry pratchett is great. i loved the hogfather and small gods. it took me a whole semester to read small gods though.

  8. July 30, 2013 | 8:40 pm

    This list is awesome! New goal: to read them all!

  9. July 31, 2013 | 2:04 pm

    The help! <3

  10. Zi
    Zi
    July 31, 2013 | 3:38 pm

    As a gamer, I NEED to read Ready Player One. *sigh* I’ve gotta pick up that book.

    Sadly, the only thing I’ve read here is Handmaid’s Tale which is one of my all-time favorites.

    Another favorite adult book which I read when I was around 16 yrs old, is The Eight by Katherine Neville. If you like historical fiction mixed with present-day and action-packed adventure around the globe brought on when the main character got her fortune told at a party, go read. It was awesome! Also, made chess seem less boring to me lol.

  11. July 31, 2013 | 7:29 pm

    Thanks for the list.

  12. August 2, 2013 | 6:09 pm

    Why is The Handmaid’s Tale on here? It is nothing like something a YA fan would like to read. The majority of this book is full of sex and lascivious acts! Very disappointing to see a book like this on the list. Most of us who enjoy YA books, enjoy them because things like this are absent from them. Avoid at all costs!

    • August 7, 2013 | 11:09 am

      Sorry, but that’s a pretty narrow description of folks who like YA. I love YA (as do most of my co-workers in the library), and The Handmaid’s Tale as many of the same elements as some of our favorite YA novels, so I completely agree with it’s place on this list. It is a fantastic novel, and I would feel comfortable recommending it to adults and older teens. I do always tell people if there are elements that some may feel are questionable: sex, violence, magic, etc., since librarians all understand that not every book is right for every reader, regardless of age.

    • September 13, 2013 | 2:26 am

      The dystopian trend in YA would not be what it is today, if not for books like The Handmaid’s Tale. So many of the YA dystopians echo elements in Atwood’s work. My high school taught The Handmaid’s Tale, with parental permission, and that was in the 90s.

      And isn’t part of the new NA subset of YA to include sex, and other elements. YA sure isn’t devoid of it either. Nor is adult literature filled with it. And there is much more explicit descriptions of it in Philippa Gregory’s and Melissa de la Cruz’s adult novels. Sex, rape, suicide are all subjects mentioned in the novel, and they are still issues women, no matter the age, have to deal with. This does it in a most powerful way.

  13. August 2, 2013 | 10:34 pm

    Ready Player One is so good!!

  14. August 4, 2013 | 2:40 pm

    I read the book Water For Elephants it was a great book I read the book when I was in the 10th grade I didn’t think I would like the book but I did I might reread the book.

  15. August 8, 2013 | 8:35 am

    I just recently read The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman. It was my first Gaiman book and I enjoyed it !! I didn’t know what to expect so at first I was shocked by the way the story went and then was smiling by the end ! Great book !

  16. August 14, 2013 | 11:33 am

    I’ve only read The Ocean, The Night Circus, and Feed, but I liked them all! I’m surprised A Discovery of Witches isn’t on here though.

  17. August 14, 2013 | 11:45 am

    The Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter Miller 1959 a must read for YA first time I read it to twentieth make it part of some list it is old but it has relevance for all generations.

  18. September 10, 2013 | 12:46 am

    Good list, except for the GLARING omission of “King Dork” by Frank Portman.

  19. September 13, 2013 | 1:59 am

    I’m still surprised that Swamplandia is on this list. Not just because I didn’t care for it, but I can’t compare it to any YA book that I’ve heard. I would have probably put something like Wicked on the list, or Game of Thrones.

Add Comment

related books