Featured, Fun Stuff, Infographics, What We're Reading
Rating

Book Your Flight with Epic Reads

This summer has been… cray to say the least. Here at Epic Reads, we’ve SERIOUSLY been dreaming of summer escape and obviously with every vacation comes a plane ride… and with every plane ride comes a good book. So we go to thinking… what if we made a guide to the books you could read during different flight times. And that’s EXACTLY what we did! Below you’ll find two handy guides to help you decide what to read on your next flight. We mapped these out to cover the most popular flight routes around the world, but if you’re flying elsewhere, just check out the most similar flight times and go with that! Also, PLEASE give us your suggestions in the comments below, and we’ll add them into this post.

 

Book Your Flight

 

Domestic

 

International

 

About The Books

 

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.

But as Monty embarks on his Grand Tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

Still, it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.
Add it to your Goodreads shelf!
Buy a copy!

 

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does—or does not—say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.
Add it to your Goodreads shelf!
Buy a copy!

 

Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau

Who better to find your weakness than the one who shares your blood.

Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the crown, the future of the kingdom was secure.

But appearances—and rivals for the throne—can be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option—to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of the crown.

As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe—from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to betrayal?

With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown.
Add it to your Goodreads shelf!
Buy a copy!

 

Monster: A Graphic Novel By Walter Dean Myers

Sometimes I feel like I have walked into the middle of a movie. Maybe I can make my own movie. The film will be the story of my life. No, not my life, but of this experience. I’ll call it what the lady who is the prosecutor called me.

Walter Dean Myers’s Monster is a multi-award–winning, provocative coming-of-age story about Steve Harmon, a teenager facing prosecution for armed robbery and murder. As Steve acclimates to juvie and endures his trial, he envisions the ordeal as a movie.

Monster was the first-ever Michael L. Printz Award recipient, an ALA Best Book, a Coretta Scott King Honor selection, a National Book Award finalist, and a New York Times bestseller. Now Monster comes to life as a powerful graphic novel, adapted by Guy A. Sims, with stunning black-and-white art from Dawud Anyabwile.

Ronit and Jamil by Pamela L. Laskin

A barrier fence divides Israel and Gaza. Ronit, an Israeli girl, lives on one side of the fence, and Jamil, a Palestinian boy, lives on the other side. They are only miles apart yet separated by generations of conflict—much more than just the concrete blockade between them. Their fathers, however, work in a distrusting but mutually beneficial business arrangement, a relationship that brings Ronit and Jamil together. And lightning strikes. The kind of lightning that transcends barrier fences, war, and hatred.

Ronit and Jamil fall desperately into the throes of forbidden love, one that would create an irreparable rift between their families if it were discovered. But a love this big can be kept secret for only so long. And soon, the teenage lovers must face the fateful choice to save their lives or their loves, as it may not be possible to save both.

With spare, vivid, and transformative language, Pamela L. Laskin delivers a novel in verse that captures the timeless Shakespearean love story with a modern and essential perspective as two teens try to rise above a war-torn world.

 

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

New York City as you’ve never seen it before. 

A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future where anything is possible—if you want it enough. 

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. Everyone there wants something . . . and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried, and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined . . . but will this new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy for an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Amid breathtaking advancement and high-tech luxury, five teenagers struggle to find their place at the top of the world. But when you’re this high up, there’s nowhere to go but down…
Add it to your Goodreads shelf!
Buy a copy!

 

The Selection Series by Kiera Cass

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

The Red Queen Series by Victoria Aveyard

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. There, before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess, and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays the only certainty is betrayal.

This sweeping story of palace intrigue, class hierarchy, and deception will keep readers hurtling along, desperate to find out Mare’s fate. Her honesty and determination, quick wit, and no-holds-barred attitude will surely make readers fall in love with her.

 

A Study In Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

 

Generation One by Pittacus Lore

The Loric didn’t make us monsters and they didn’t make us heroes. We choose what happens next.

Taylor Cook thought of the invasion as just a bad dream. It had ended over a year ago, and none of the fighting happened anywhere near her small town. She’d heard about teens who were suddenly developing incredible abilities, but she had never really believed it. Not until the day she discovered she was one of them—a human with Legacies.

Now Taylor is being sent off to the Human Garde Academy. A place where teens from across the globe can learn to control their new powers and discover what they are truly capable of. There they will be trained by the Loric—the very same people who helped win the war and who are also responsible for unleashing the Legacies on the planet.

As part of this new generation of Garde, Taylor and the others will one day be able to use their gifts to protect mankind. But not everyone thinks that’s the best use for their talents. There are people who have different plans for the students and who will stop at nothing to get what they want.

Generation One is the first book in a thrilling new series set in the world of the bestselling I Am Number Four series.
Add it to your Goodreads shelf!
Buy a copy!

 

Need more books to read this summer? WE GOTCHU! Check out these beach reads before summer is over!


What other books are you reading this summer? Where are you traveling!? Tell us in the comments below!