Book Nerds Unite, Fun Stuff
Rating

We Need Diverse Books(tagrams)

Welcome to the wonderful world of diverse books(tagrams). We are so excited that we are finally starting to see some amazing diverse books being published in 2017, and from all your bookstagrams it seems like you guys are too! This week we are showing off all the beautifully diverse YA that the book gods have bestowed upon us by showcasing the most gorgeous We Need Diverse Books(tagrams) from this week! Books like The Hate U Give, Of Fire and Stars, The Education of Margot Sanchez, and The Girl From Everywhere are telling amazing, dynamic, and diverse stories- so it’s time to give them some love!  😍📷📚 be featured here you can #bookstagram, or tag us in your posts (@epicreads) and don’t forget to tag them #epicreads- we’ll be sure to look through each week! Enjoy these beautifully diverse books(tagrams)!

 

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

If you only read one book this year, read this one. SERIOUSLY.

Add The Hate U give to your Goodreads shelf! 

 

MY. MOST. ANTICIPATED. RELEASE. OF. 2017. IS. OUT. I have a new profile picture! And it's this book! I know that I fangirl about a lot of new releases or books on my TBR. This is different. This is bigger. When I read the blurb for this book, I was stunned. STUNNED that a book of this magnitude was going to be unleashed on the YA community. I mean just LOOK AT THAT COVER. Do you know, first of all, how rare it is to see a black girl on the cover in YA? Too rare. I have never seen a book like this get released in YA. It's not everyday that I get to read about present, real world problems that affect me because of my blackness. And I can't wait. Happy belated book birthday to THE HATE U GIVE. • • Also! First day of #DiverseBookMar is a Diverse Read on your TBR!

A post shared by Jordyn 📖 (@jordz_the_bibliophile) on

 

Piecing Me Together by Renée Watson

This one is on our TBR pile and we are SO excited to see what’s in store for us. This picture is PERFECT btw.

Add Piecing Me Together to your Goodreads shelf! 

 

 

The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Rivera

THIS BOOK IS EVERYTHING. And so are these bookstagrams.

Add The Education Of Margot Sanchez to your Goodreads shelf! 

 

 

Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson

This was without a doubt one of our most anticipated reads of 2017, and it did not disappoint.

Add Allegedly to your Goodreads shelf! 

 

 

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

Heidi has brought us a beautiful story with diverse characters and thoughts. run. run. RUN to the bookstore.

Add The Girl From Everywhere to your Goodreads shelf! 

 

 

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

These adorable books are diverse and make us SWOON. Oh yeah, and these photos are sooooo dreamy 😍.

Add To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before to your Goodreads shelf! 

 

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

A Standalone Fantasy with LGBTQ themes? YES PLEASE.

Add Of Fire and Stars to your Goodreads shelf! 

 

 

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

We love the simplicity in this photo! This book was amazing and OMG have you seen the trailer for the movie? #Swoon.

Add Everything, Everything to your Goodreads shelf! 

 

The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

Nicola Yoon does is again!!! This is a MUST read!

Add The Sun is Also a Star to your Goodreads shelf! 

name a more iconic duo than books + tea (or coffee), i'll wait 📖☕️✨

A post shared by Ann | 17 | Dutch | Ravenclaw (@ravenclawreading) on

 

Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

oooOooo pretty colors. Simon is also being adapted into a movie by the way. We are over the moon about this one. Learn more here! 

Add Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda to your Goodreads shelf! 

 

Dreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham

We are so intrigued by this book, this cover, THESE PHOTOS. Wow. just. WOW.

Add Dreamland Burning to your Goodreads shelf! 

 

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

This photo is next level soothing. We just want to cuddle up with American Street. The story will have you laughing, crying, and also believing in vodou…

Add American Street to your Goodreads shelf! 

Hey book mer 💙 How are you all today? I'm only running on 3 hours of sleep, since the Oscars took all my attention from homework 🙃😂 . [Mug by @miishmiish ❤] . . I pre-ordered American Street @ibizoboi a couple weeks ago and got in the mail a few days ago, and I'm super excited because the main character is Haitian like me 🙈❤. Tbh that's like the main reason I bought it. I saw "Haitian" and clicked "add to chart" so fast 😂. . . . Synopsis: American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

A post shared by Helory (@_wolfandmoon) on

 

Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley

This photo is the definition of beauty. Can’t wait to DEVOUR this one!

Add Our Own Private Universe to your Goodreads shelf! 

 

A Quiet Kind Of Thunder by Sara Barnard

What a book. This story is so unique and SO important. Read, read, read, read, READ it!

Add A Quiet Kind Of Thunder to your Goodreads shelf! 

Happy release day to #AQuietKindOfThunder by #SaraBarnard 🎉 Can't wait to read it!

A post shared by @balfourvallet on

 

History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

BRB picking my jaw up off the ground because this photo is STUNNING.

Add The History Is All You Left Me to your Goodreads shelf! 

So I am here to grace your wonderful lives with the news that #HistoryIsAllYouLeftMe is an absolutely BEAUTIFUL AND SAD AND HOPEFUL book that you should read asap. Oh you want reason? Well. I shall comply. . . 1. It’s seriously nerdy. Like Harry Potter trivia nights and puzzles and Star Wars. 2. Adorableness and tragicness at every corner. 3. It’s kind of heartbreaking. 4. OKAY IT’S REALLY HEARTBREAKING but all the good books stab you in the feels right?? 5. It’s #ownvoices and #diverserec for OCD and lgbt. 6. The characters felt so real?? And tragic?? And they are thoroughly hot messes and I THINK I LOVE THEM. 7. Beautiful writing. 8. That blue sea on the cover represents your tears. 9. But it’s still hopeful!! Sad but hopeful!! 10. SPECIAL NOVEL THIS. . . I’m just going to huddle here and rock myself quietly and also realise I must read every book Adam Silvera writes. (I do actually have More Happy Than Not! I should get onto that! I won’t confess that I bought it because…it was…yellow and I needed yellow spines for bookstagram. Ahem. Haha. Won’t confess that.) ‪.‬ ‪.‬ ‪.‬ QOTD: What’s the last sad but hopeful book you read?! . . #bookstagram #bookworm #bookphotography #bibliophile #booklover #bookaddict #instareads #book #instabook #reader #bookish #bookgram #beautifulbooks #booksofinstagram #reading #booknerdigans #bookandflowers #prettybookcovers #diversebooks #adamsilvera #bluebooks

A post shared by Cait (@paperfury) on

 

Dreadnought by April Daniels

OKAY WE’VE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS STORY FOR OUR ENTIRE LIVES. An LGBTQ super hero story? That’s my kinda hero.

Add Dreadnought to your Goodreads Shelf! 

 

 


📷 📖Do you or someone you know have a beautiful bookstagram? Shout them out in the comments below!