Like, Try, Why
Rating

We are your book matchmakers, here to make you a match! Sometimes it’s hard to find a book you’ll like, which is why we’ve done the dirty work for you! We have read-a-like suggestions if you enjoyed the TV show Limitless or the book Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson.

Like Try Why #62 from Epic Reads - #bookrecs #epicreads

Here’s the scoop on why we are recommending these readalikes:

If you like Limitless, try Bluescreen

Bluescreen by Dan Wells - If you like the show Limitless then you should read this book!Here’s why: In the CBS show Limitless (which is based on the movie of the same name starring hot guy Bradley Cooper), an experimental drug gives people the ability to use 100% of their brain power so they can access memories of everything they’ve ever read, heard, or seen in the blink of an eye. In Bluescreen, everyone has an implant called a djinni that allows them to access the internet with only a thought, and there’s a new digital drug that can plug directly into a djinni, overloading a person’s sensory feeds to induce a hallucinogenic trip. While people will kill to get the drug in Limitless, they’ll kill to stop people telling the truth about the true effects of the drug in Bluescreen.

 

If you like Speak, try The Word for Yes

The Word for Yes by Claire Needell Here’s why: The Word for Yes follows three sisters, Jan, Erika, and Melanie, as they deal with their parents’ divorce and new experiences in college and high school. When Erika finds Melanie after a party full of blurred lines and blurred memories, the sisters must learn to depend on and support each other. Like Speak, this powerful book addresses the aftermath of rape and its deep and reverberating impact both personally and socially. It also sends a beautiful message about sisterhood, and shows how the love and trust between friends and family can both hold us together and tear us apart.

 


What books would you like us to make Like, Try, Why’s for? Let us know in the comments below or submit your request for a Like, Try, Why via our Tumblr here.

Check out more Like, Try, Why’s here!