Curated Reading Lists, Featured, Pop Culture
Rating

Are you obsessing over the Gilmore Girls revival like we are?! As we all know, Rory Gilmore is the true book nerd’s BFF. To honor her book nerd spirit we compiled a list of books perfect for Gilmore Girls fans! Witty banter, coffee coffee coffee, small town charm, and the coziness of Gilmore Girls awaits you.

 

1. Life by Committee by Corey Ann Haydu

If you liked the close parental relationships like Lorelai and Rory, try Life by Committee by Corey Ann Haydu! Just like Rory, the main character isn’t perfect and makes mistakes but we’re still rooting for her.

This one looks super cute without a dust jacket. What are some of your favorite surprises underneath the dust jacket?

A photo posted by ☆ siiri (@rosecoballoway) on

 

2. Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty

Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty is great for fans who love the witty banter of Gilmore Girls! You’ll fall in love with Jessica Darling and feel like she’s real, just the way you connect with the characters on Gilmore Girls.

 

3. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landeau-Banks by E. Lockhart

Hello, Life and Death Brigade! The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart explores the world of elite schooling (à la Chilton or Yale) and the privileges that go with it.

“She will not be simple and sweet. She will not be what people tell her she should be.” ― E. Lockhart, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks @elockhartbooks . . . Sometimes, when an author has a really hyped, really popular book (like Lockhart’s We Were Liars) instead I decide to pick up one of their older books and read it first, hence TDHOFLB. (side-note: Lockhart’s books have some of the longest titles I have EVER seen!) I read this book back in 2014 when We Were Liars came out and just to be clear, they are NOTHING alike. This book is a really interesting look at gender politics and secret societies at a coed boarding school. Also to be clear, I actually liked We Were Liars better, but they don’t even feel like they were written by the same author. Have you read any of E. Lockhart's novels? These are the only two I’ve read so far. . . .

A photo posted by meredith (@fromlibrarywithlove) on

 

4. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Rainbow Rowell is known for her sharp dialogue and pop culture references just like Gilmore Girls! Fangirl depicts how college doesn’t always go the same way you expect and how you can change in college, much like Rory did in Yale.

 

 

5. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows

Gilmore Girls is full of quirky charm and hilarious dialogue the same way My Lady Jane is! It might not be the conventional choice but we think Rory would have fun reading about this not-exactly-true historical romp.

 

 

 

6. The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

A major theme throughout Gilmore Girls is the question of class which The Distance Between Us by Kasie West also delves into when the main character falls in love with the rich boy. Plus, there’s a close mom/daughter relationship and will leave you with warm fuzzy feelings.

 

7. Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham

Hello, a book written by Lorelai Gilmore? Yes please! Lauren Graham also wrote a memoir called Talking As Fast As I Can about her life as a Gilmore Girl, which we can’t wait to read! Someday, Someday Maybe is about Franny, struggling actress in New York City, with just six months left of the three year deadline she gave herself to succeed.

If you L O V E #gilmoregirls as much as I do; you will enjoy this book! Written by @graham.lauren. 💻☕️📘

A photo posted by SOCIAAL GRID | Kylee Wilson (@sociaalgrid) on

 

8. I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl by Gretchen McNeil

I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl by Gretchen McNeil is a fun book that subverts tropes the same way Gilmore Girls does (as a female-dominated television show!) and you’ll blow through it the way you’ll be binge watch Gilmore Girls.

Thank you to @harpercollinsus for sending me a copy of I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl by @gretchen_mcneil! 😄 Book synopsis: Beatrice Maria Estrella Giovannini has life all figured out. She's starting senior year at the top of her class, she’s a shoo-in for a scholarship to M.I.T., and she’s got a new boyfriend she’s crazy about. The only problem: All through high school Bea and her best friends Spencer and Gabe have been the targets of horrific bullying. So Bea uses her math skills to come up with The Formula, a 100% mathematically guaranteed path to social happiness in high school. Now Gabe is on his way to becoming Student Body President, and Spencer is finally getting his art noticed. But when her boyfriend Jesse dumps her for Toile, the quirky new girl at school, Bea realizes it's time to use The Formula for herself. She'll be reinvented as the eccentric and lovable Trixie—a quintessential manic pixie dream girl—in order to win Jesse back and beat new-girl Toile at her own game. Unfortunately, being a manic pixie dream girl isn't all it's cracked up to be, and “Trixie” is causing unexpected consequences for her friends. As The Formula begins to break down, can Bea find a way to reclaim her true identity and fix everything she's messed up? Or will the casualties of her manic pixie experiment go far deeper than she could possibly imagine? I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl is already available! 😊 | #imnotyourmanicpixiedreamgirl #gretchenmcneil #book #bookstagram #vscobooks #ohmybows

A photo posted by 🌻 K A R M E N (@readingoncloud9) on

 

9. Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

We’re not the only ones who want to live in Stars Hollow. Bone Gap by Laura Ruby explores the small town themes.

Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps. So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren’t surprised. But Finn knows what really happened to Roza. He knows she was kidnapped by a dangerous man whose face he cannot remember. As we follow the stories of Finn, Roza, and the people of Bone Gap, acclaimed author Laura Ruby weaves a tale of the ways in which the face the world sees is never the sum of who we are.

 

10. The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis is a bit of a stretch for this list but it is another one that we think Rory would totally read! Plus this book also explores small towns, except this time it’s darker…and with consequences.

 

11. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson brings on the boy confusion (which boyfriend is best for Rory Gilmore?!) and the swoons and the heartbreak the same way Gilmore Girls does.

 

12. How To Love by Katie Cotugno

We all know that love can get pretty complicated in the lives of Lorelai and Rory Gilmore. How To Love by Katie Cotugno will give you love that takes so many 180s it will make your head spin and will also give you all of the unexpected Lorelai pregnancy drama that you’ve been missing!

✔️ How to Love by: Katie Cotugno // done reading 🙌🏻 #vsco #vscoph #vscodaily #KatieCotugno

A photo posted by Patricia Ashley Estacio (@xvashleyestacio) on

 

13. Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda  by Becky Albertalli will give you all the fantastic feels that the Gilmore Girls filled your heart with. Plus if you’re looking for a new sweet treat to obsess over, Oreos are to Simon as Pop-Tarts are to Lorelai and Rory. This Incredibly funny and poignant, twenty-first-century coming-of-age, coming out story—wrapped in a geek romance—is a knockout of a debut novel by Becky Albertalli.

Can you recommend any LGBT books to me? 🏳️‍🌈🌈🏳️‍🌈 I'd love to read more 📚 I already read 'Will Grayson, Will Grayson', 'Aristotle and Dante' and 'Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda', which you can see in this picture. 📕 I must say, I liked 'Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda' best and can't wait to reread it 😍 It had lots of Harry Potter references in it and I just loved the whole book so much 😍❤️📕 I hope you enjoy your weekend! ✨ I'll be baking christmas cookies with my brother and grams today 🎅🏻🎄🍪 – (❗️please credit me properly in the caption and in the picture if you use any of my pictures❗️) – @beckyalbertalli @penguinukbooks #bookporn #lgbtbooks #redbook #simonvsthehomosapiensagenda #lgbtbook #queerbooks #novemberbook #coverporn #bookcoverlove #gaybook #Booklove #redandgreen #christmascandle #candles #christmascandles #november #christmasdecoration #happynovember #hellonovember #kerze #kerzen #duftkerze #weihnachtskerze #christmasdecorations #christmasdecor #penguinbooks #gaybooks #November #book📚 @penguinbooks

A photo posted by isabell ✨ 19 ✨ anglophile 🇬🇧 (@isleepnaked) on

 

14. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Jenny Han’s To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before is a perfect match for Gilmore Girls fans- the food? Check. the family bonds? Check. And the cute boys? Check, check, check.

 


Are you you binge watching the new Gilmore Girls revival like us? What would be your Gilmore Girls recs? Tell us in the comments below!

Save

Save

Save

Save