Update your password



Tour Info

Tour Info

Reader Rating:

Born of Illusion

On-Sale Date: April 22 2014
Format: Paperback, 400pp
ISBN# 9780062187550
Change Format:
Price: $9.99

ABOUT

For fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel is the story of a budding magician who has spent her life playing sidekick to her faux-medium mother—and trying to hide the fact that she possesses magnificent powers.

As the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini—or so her mother claims—gifted illusionist Anna Van Housen easily navigates the underground world of magicians and mediums in 1920s New York, though the real trick is keeping her true gifts secret from her opportunistic mother. But as Anna's powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions that lead her to explore the powers she's tried so long to hide.

Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Illusion and its whip-smart, savvy protagonist.

Book Description

Anna Van Housen has a secret.

A gifted illusionist, Anna assists her mother, renowned medium Marguerite Van Housen, in her stage show and séances, easily navigating the underground world of magicians, mediums, and mentalists in 1920s New York. As the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini—or so Marguerite claims—sleight-of-hand illusions have never been a challenge for Anna. The real trick is keeping her true gifts secret from her opportunistic mother: because while Marguerite's own powers may be a sham, Anna actually can sense people's feelings and foretell the future.

But as Anna's powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions that lead her to explore the abilities she's tried so long to hide. And when a mysterious young man moves into the flat downstairs, introducing Anna to a society that studies people with gifts like hers, she begins to wonder if there's more to life than keeping secrets.

From Teri Brown comes a world bursting with magic, with romance, with Jazz Age temptations—and the story of a girl about to become mistress of her own destiny.

Wow this book rocks. You will want to read it trust me. It is hard to put down from the very start. I am basking in the afterglow of finishing a wonderful book. Loved it!

reply

i got this book 2 weeks before it went on sale and i must say that it is an amazing read

reply

Just got my AR copy in the mail today. I can't wait to dive into it. Thanks Epi Reads.

reply

I can't wait to read this book.

reply

I absolutely adore this cover!

reply

Related Blog Posts

Thanks for signing up!

Check your email and follow the instructions to complete your registration!

If the email gets lost, go ahead and request it again!