Update your password



Tour Info

Tour Info

Reader Rating:

Everything That Makes You

On-Sale Date: March 14 2017
Format: Paperback, 352pp
ISBN# 9780062295491
Change Format:
Price: $9.99

ABOUT

Ever wonder "What if?"

Now available in paperback, Everything That Makes You is an epic romance about one girl—and the two possible lives she might have lived if an accident hadn’t changed everything. Intense and beautifully written, this is a realistic contemporary novel with a twist, perfect for fans of If I Stay by Gayle Forman and Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver.

Fiona Doyle's face was horribly scarred as a child. She writes about her frustrations and dreams in notebooks, penning song lyrics—but she'd never be brave enough to sing those songs in public or to Trent, the boy she’s always loved. Fi Doyle never had an accident. She's the best lacrosse player in the state and can't be distracted by her bff, Trent, who wants to be more than that. Then one day, her luck on the field goes south, and everything’s not so easy anymore.

Alternating chapters between Fiona and Fi tell two separate stories about the same girl and feature many of the same characters. It’s fun to see how the characters change between the two stories, and how Fiona and Fi are alike and different.

I received this book as an ARC, and I want to give honest feedback.

While I liked the basic premise, I thought the execution of this book was weak. Some of the characters weren't fleshed out enough, especially some of the love interests.

I liked Fiona. I did not like Fi. Fi's relationship with Marcus seemed superficial. The author told, rather than showed, the reader that Fi loved Marcus. Further, Fi seemed weak and whiny. I know that she had bad things happen to her, but she acted very spoiled in many scenes. I also found the ending with Trent not very well fleshed out, and so it made it a little hard to believe. There wasn't enough tension.

Further, some of the supporting characters (Lucy, Trent in Fiona's story, Gwen) seemed like "throw aways." They didn't really add anything to the story. They were sometimes unnecessary to the furtherance of the plot.

Overall, I found this book to be highly predictable. I knew what would happen through most of it. It took me over a week to get to the end of this book. I started others while reading it. I just didn't feel like picking it up most of the time.

reply

Related Blog Posts

Thanks for signing up!

Check your email and follow the instructions to complete your registration!

If the email gets lost, go ahead and request it again!