Update your password



Tour Info

Tour Info

Reader Rating:

Everything That Makes You

On-Sale Date: March 17 2015
Format: E-Book, 352pp
ISBN# 9780062295507
Change Format:
Price: $9.99

ABOUT

Ever wonder "What if?" Everything That Makes You is a romantic, epic story about one girl—and her two possible lives after an accident changes her fate.

Fiona Doyle's face was horribly scarred as a child. She writes about her frustrations and dreams in notebooks, penning song lyrics. But she'd never be brave enough to sing those songs in public. Fi Doyle never had an accident. She's the best lacrosse player in the state and can't be distracted by her friend who wants to be more than that. But then her luck on the field goes south.

Alternating chapters between Fiona and Fi tell two stories about the same girl—hopes and dreams and crushes, fears and failures and loss. This beautifully written realistic contemporary novel with a twist is perfect for fans of If I Stay by Gayle Forman and Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver.

Book Description

One Girl
Two stories

Meet Fiona Doyle. The thick ridges of scar tissue on her face are from an accident twelve years ago. Fiona has notebooks with lyrics about her frustrations, her dreams, and her crush on uber-jock Trent McKinnon. But if she can't even find the courage to look Trent straight in his blue eyes, she sure isn't brave enough to sing her songs at open mic night. Yet something's changing in Fiona. She can't be defined by her scars anymore.

And what if there hadn't been an accident?

Meet Fi Doyle. Fi is the top-rated high school lacrosse player in the state, heading to Northwestern on a full ride. She's got more important things to deal with than her best friend, Trent McKinnon, who wants more ever since the kiss. But when an unlucky move on the field screws everything up, she loses the thing she's best at. Can Fi fight back?

Hasn't everyone wondered what if?

Everything That Makes You follows the same girl in two stories. Moving between them feels like a game, or a great song—exciting, unpredictable, and so compelling. In her daring debut novel, Moriah McStay gives us the opportunity to see what might have happened if things were different. Luck may determine our paths, but maybe it's who we are that determines our luck.

I received this book as an ARC, and I want to give honest feedback.

While I liked the basic premise, I thought the execution of this book was weak. Some of the characters weren't fleshed out enough, especially some of the love interests.

I liked Fiona. I did not like Fi. Fi's relationship with Marcus seemed superficial. The author told, rather than showed, the reader that Fi loved Marcus. Further, Fi seemed weak and whiny. I know that she had bad things happen to her, but she acted very spoiled in many scenes. I also found the ending with Trent not very well fleshed out, and so it made it a little hard to believe. There wasn't enough tension.

Further, some of the supporting characters (Lucy, Trent in Fiona's story, Gwen) seemed like "throw aways." They didn't really add anything to the story. They were sometimes unnecessary to the furtherance of the plot.

Overall, I found this book to be highly predictable. I knew what would happen through most of it. It took me over a week to get to the end of this book. I started others while reading it. I just didn't feel like picking it up most of the time.

reply

Related Blog Posts

Thanks for signing up!

Check your email and follow the instructions to complete your registration!

If the email gets lost, go ahead and request it again!