Update your password



Tour Info

Tour Info

Reader Rating:

Life After Theft

On-Sale Date: April 29 2014
Format: Paperback, 368pp
ISBN# 9780061999024
Change Format:
Price: $9.99

ABOUT

Aprilynne Pike, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Wings series, shines in this stand-alone novel that offers a humorous twist on ghosts and is perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Rachel Hawkins, and Kiersten White.

Kimberlee Schaffer thinks she's doomed to an afterlife of boredom, stuck haunting the halls of her high school for eternity . . . until the day she meets Jeff. He's the only person who's ever been able to see Kimberlee, so she needs him to help with her unfinished business. When she was alive, Kimberlee wasn't just a mean girl; she was also a complete kleptomaniac. If Jeff wants to avoid being haunted until graduation, he'll have to help her return everything she stole. But Jeff soon discovers that it's much easier to steal something than it is to bring it back.

Paying for your mistakes takes on a whole new meaning in this clever and exhilarating modern retelling of The Scarlet Pimpernel. Kirkus Reviews called Life After Theft "a brisk, down-to-earth thriller," and School Library Journal proclaimed it a "whirlwind adventure full of secrets, lies, unlikely friendships, and romance." This paperback edition also contains an excerpt from Aprilynne Pike's next novel: Sleep No More.

Book Description

Kimberlee Schaffer may be drop-dead gorgeous . . .

but she also dropped dead last year. Now she needs Jeff's help with her unfinished business, and she's not taking no for an answer. When she was alive, Kimberlee wasn't just a mean girl . . . she was also a kleptomaniac. So if Jeff wants to avoid being haunted until graduation, he'll have to return everything she stole. But Jeff soon discovers it's much easier to steal something than it is to give it back.

IT WAS A VERY GOOD READ FOR ME. BUT I ACTUALLY WANTED JEFF TO END UP FALLING FOR KIMBERLEE AT THE END BUT THE ENDING WAS FINE I GUESS. I HOPE FOR A SECOND BOOK ABOUT JEFFS LIFE AFTER HER AND HOW HE SEES THE WORLD AFTER

reply

I really enjoyed this book. It was a fast read to me, and Aprilynne Pike is definitely a great writer, now I have to check out her other books. If you are looking for a fast, easy, at times funny and a little dark read, you should definitely read "Life After Theft"!

reply

Review:

I received a copy from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review

Aprilynne Pike's Life After Theft is one of those ghost/haunting young adult novels that focuses more on character growth, rather than if the ghost and the female or male protagonist will fall in love with his/her tormentor. Pike's novel is a quickly paced tale of a ghost haunted by her choices and a protagonist who is, perhaps, too nice for his own good.

Life After Theft is fun and witty, but it is also emotionally moving. The reader isn't just dealing with a snarky ghost, Kimberlee, s/he is witnessing someone find herself, despite her death, and her dark deeds when she was still alive. This aspect of the novel is what brings Pike's novel up a notch.

But Jeff, the protagonist, grows as well. His life has already changed by the time we meet him, but it changes even more once he meets Kimberlee. She forces him to move beyond his comfort zone, while his love interest challenges him to take a person as she is, rather than base everything on past decisions.

Life After Theft is also an addicting novel, since Jeff and Kimberlee are always right on the verge of getting caught in the act. The close calls are cringe-worthy, but we can't look away. We absolutely need to know more.

The storyline is slightly predictable, but not so much that we aren't surprised occasionally by a revelation, or two. The characters all give life to the story as their secrets and pasts come to light. Basically, Life After Theft is a book that warns you against judging others by their outward appearances.

Which brings me to the dominant theme in this novel: redemption. Jeff is the kind of guy who believes that everyone has a bit of good in them, so it is only natural that Jeff is the personification of redemption. He not only tries to save Kimberlee, but he unknowingly tries to save others around him. Redemption is what moves Pike's novel; without it, the story would fall flat.

The conclusion, however, is a little abrupt. Especially the concluding sentence--it is jarring, like Pike just wants it to end. It all also feels a little too...obvious at the end--everything is spelled out for you. No magic; no "wow" moment. The story leading up to the conclusion is eventful and touching, but I couldn't help but feel disconnected from the conclusion.

I recommend Life After Theft to readers of contemporary literature with a light paranormal touch. If you like stories that have ghostly encounters and witty dialogue, then you'll like this one. Pike challenges her characters to give themselves more credit, and to face their demons.

reply

Ummmm Look at this cover PEOPLE. It's INSANE GORG. If you read the synopsis on Goodreads you learn that it is a retell of Scarlet Pimpernel *AAAAAAAAAAAAAAH* with Ghosts! *DOUBLE AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!*. April I love you for writing this book. WANTS. Book Fairies? KING SNARKLES?

reply

Related Blog Posts

Thanks for signing up!

Check your email and follow the instructions to complete your registration!

If the email gets lost, go ahead and request it again!