Book Nerds, Community, News, Social Distancing

Join the Epic Reads Book Club and Read More Books in 2020

Archives

Join the Epic Reads Book Club and Read More Books in 2020

Join the Epic Reads Book Club and Read More Books in 2020

If your New Year’s resolution is to read more books, join the Epic Reads Book Club! 

That’s right! We’re excited to announce that 2020 is not only the start of a new decade but also the start of an official Epic Reads Book Club cause book nerds have goals and ours is to get through our TBR pile finally—no, definitely—ok, maybe—well, hopefully—this year. So here’s to our 2020 reading challenge and this is how it’s going to work.

Every three months, we will announce the season’s reading challenges and book recommendations. This way, you can go ahead and get your books ready by grabbing them early or by requesting the books from the library (we know those library waits can be brutal). There will be a themed reading challenge for each month and we’ll also include our official book recommendation for that month’s discussions along with it.

We’ll be hosting discussions across our social media so if you’re on…

Let’s do this, book nerds! Check out the winter line-up of reading challenges and book recommendations for the next three months below and let us know in the comments if you have any thoughts, questions, or excitement to share.

 

Epic Reads Book Club

WINTER 2020 BOOK SELECTIONS

 

JANUARY 2020

A Very Large Expanse of Sea

From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Shatter Me series comes a powerful, heartrending contemporary novel about fear, first love, and the devastating impact of prejudice.

It’s 2002, a year after 9/11. It’s an extremely turbulent time politically, but especially so for someone like Shirin, a sixteen-year-old Muslim girl who’s tired of being stereotyped.

Shirin is never surprised by how horrible people can be. She’s tired of the rude stares, the degrading comments—even the physical violence—she endures as a result of her race, her religion, and the hijab she wears every day. So she’s built up protective walls and refuses to let anyone close enough to hurt her. Instead, she drowns her frustrations in music and spends her afternoons break-dancing with her brother.

But then she meets Ocean James. He’s the first person in forever who really seems to want to get to know Shirin. It terrifies her—they seem to come from two irreconcilable worlds—and Shirin has had her guard up for so long that she’s not sure she’ll ever be able to let it down.

 

FEBRUARY 2020

  • The reading challenge: Read a Book That Subverts a Trope
  • Our book recommendation: Damsel by Elana K Arnold

*A 2019 Michael L. Printz Award Honor Book*

A dark, twisted, unforgettable fairy tale from Elana K. Arnold, author of the National Book Award finalist What Girls Are Made Of

The rite has existed for as long as anyone can remember: When the king dies, his son the prince must venture out into the gray lands, slay a fierce dragon, and rescue a damsel to be his bride. This is the way things have always been.

When Ama wakes in the arms of Prince Emory, she knows none of this. She has no memory of what came before she was captured by the dragon or what horrors she faced in its lair. She knows only this handsome young man, the story he tells of her rescue, and her destiny of sitting on a throne beside him. It’s all like a dream, like something from a fairy tale.

As Ama follows Emory to the kingdom of Harding, however, she discovers that not all is as it seems. There is more to the legends of the dragons and the damsels than anyone knows, and the greatest threats may not be behind her, but around her, now, and closing in.

 

MARCH 2020

  • The reading challenge: Read a Book That Deals with Social Media
  • Our book recommendation: All of This is True by Lygia Day Peñaflor

In this genre-defying page-turner from Lygia Day Peñaflor, four teens befriend their favorite novelist, only to find their deepest, darkest secrets in the pages of her next book—with devastating consequences.

Miri Tan loved the book Undertow like it was a living being. So when she and her friends went to a book signing to hear the author, Fatima Ro, they concocted a plan to get close to her.

Soleil Johnston wanted to be a writer herself one day. When she and her friends started hanging out with her favorite author, Fatima Ro, she couldn’t believe their luck—especially when Jonah Nicholls started hanging out with them, too.

Penny Panzarella was more than the materialist party girl everyone at the Graham School thought she was—and she was willing to share all her secrets with Fatima Ro to prove it.

Jonah Nicholls had more to hide than any of them. And now that Fatima’s next book is out in the world, he’s the one who is paying the price…

Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying—and told as a series of interviews, journal entries, and even pages from the book within the book—this gripping story of a fictional scandal will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end.

Must reads