News, Pop Culture

‘They Both Die at the End’ Adaptation is Officially in the Works at HBO!

Archives

‘They Both Die at the End’ Adaptation is Officially in the Works at HBO!

They Both Die at the End: Banner

You better check your phone, readers, because—no, it’s not DeathCast calling. It’s us, and we’re here to tell you that Adam Silvera’s inspirational and heartbreaking epic, They Both Die at the End, is officially in the works at HBO to be adapted into a series!

According to Variety, They Both Die at the End is getting its half-hour comedy treatment. According to us, don’t worry about the story losing its emotional core. Comedy is just how the network labels all of its half-hour series. Though of course, you can’t forget all those darkly comedic moments Adam wove throughout. We think it’s a perfect fit. In fact, we also thought it was a perfect fit when we called this back in June, declaring our wish to see They Both Die at the End turned into a premium miniseries! Thank you, thank you, we know our expertise is impressive.

We’ll be updating this page with everything we know concerning They Both Die at the End‘s small screen adaptation, so bookmark it now and feel free to keep checking back. In the meantime, find us rereading the book and getting emotionally wrecked by Mateo and Rufus all over again.

 

About They Both Die at the End

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.

Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera.

 


Let us know all your thoughts in the comments below! What are you most excited to see?!

Must reads